Dr Robert Acland – S&T Overseas Traveling Fellowship

Dr Acland transferred the copyright of his “Practice Manual for Microvascular Surgery” to the Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand.  The reprint of the second edition was published by Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand in the 2005 and was highly popular.

The third edition was brought out in the year 2008.  Dr Raja Sabapathy collaborated in this third edition.  M/s Carl Zeiss and M/s S&T greatly sponsored the publication of this book.  The overseas sales of the book was taken over by S&T and out of  the sale proceeds of the third edition an overseas Traveling Fellowhip has been created. 

Dr Robert Acland


The guidelines for the award of the Fellowship were framed during the Executive Committee on 26th Nov 2008 at the Bangalore ISSH meeting and was ratified by the General Body held on 27th Nov 2008.

Fellowship Guidelines

  • The fellowship will be called as Dr Robert Acland – S & T Overseas Traveling Fellowship.
  • Each year one candidate will be chosen for the Fellowship and it carries an award of Rs. One Lakh
  • The awardee must have done considerable work in Hand Surgery and must serve as an ambassador for Indian Hand Surgery.
  • The applicant must have been a member of the ISSH for at least 7 years
  • He must have attended at least 3 annual meetings of the Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand in the past 7 years..
  • The fund could be utilized by the Fellow for attending an International Hand & Microsurgery meeting to present a paper and /  or spend a few weeks in a reputed centre with prior concurrence of the Executive Committee of the Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand
  • 50 % of the sum would be made available for the candidate before the departure.  On completion of the Fellowship, the Fellow must send in a report to the Secretary, ISSH to become eligible for the disbursement of the remaining amount.
  • The Overseas Traveling Fellow will make a presentation about his experience in the subsequent annual meeting when the award will be given during the Inaugural Ceremony.
  • The selection of the fellow will be done by the Executive Committee of the Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand
  • A seperate account has been created under the ISSH Trust to manage the corpus.


The Executive Committee and the Members of the Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand profusely thanked the magnanimous gesture of Dr Robert Acland and the support extended by Mr Markus Spingler, Managing Director, S & T for making this award possible.

Markus Spingler



2009 - 10

Dr. Jagannath B Kamath
Department of Orthopaedics, Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore.

Place Visited
Kwang, Myung Sung Hospital and Asan Medical Center, Seoul, Korea.

2010 - 11

Dr. Bharath Kadadi
Medical Director- Bengaluru Hand Centre, Bangalore.

Place Visited
Pulvertaft Hand Centre, Derby. United Kingdom.

2011 - 12

Dr. Anil K. Bhat
Associate Professor. Dept. of Orthopaedics,
Kasturba Medical College,
Manipal, Karnataka - 576 104.

Place Visited
Hong Kong

2012 - 13

Dr. Hari Venkatramani
Consultant Plastic Surgeon,
Ganga Hospital Pvt Ltd,
313, Mettupalayam Road, Coimbatore - 641 043.
Place Visited

2013 - 14

No Awards

2014 - 15

Dr. Abhijeet L Wahegaonkar
Place Visited



Password Retrieval

Please provide your email id registered with us. Your password will be immediately mailed to your email. Please check your SPAM box incase you do not find the mail in the INBOX.

Email Id

Forgot Password | Signup